Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

February 2017

Skip Navigation Links.
show all editions →

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Software for Machining Complex 3-D Parts



Dental mold that was machined using SGI.5

Makino's V33i-5XB 5-axis VMC

Makino has introduced SGI.5, its latest version of Super Geometric Intelligence software for high-feedrate, tight-tolerance machining of complex three-dimensional contoured shapes.

"SGI.5 is the next-generation Makino advancement, culminating a decade of high-speed, high-accuracy motion control in complex 3-D contouring applications," said Bill Howard, Vertical Machining Product Manager at Makino. "Continuous product development and technology innovations and advancements in Makino proprietary software and motion control/servo technology have altered the traditional speeds and feeds typically used to manufacture these types of parts."

The technology facilitates enhanced levels of accuracy and reductions in cycle time. "Depending upon the specific geometry of the application, SGI.5 can provide 20 - 60% faster cycle times while maintaining accuracy and surface finishes," said a company spokesperson.

SGI.5 combines the rigidity of the machine structure, the kinematics of the machine drive systems and the latest advancements in servo drive technologies with Makino's proprietary software. The result is increased speed, high feeds and tight accuracies when executing NC programs with micro-blocks whose traverse movement value is 1 mm or less. This is characteristic of the complex 3-D free, curved surface shapes found in the die/mold, medical, aerospace and other high-performance milling applications.

For more information contact:

Laura Buehner

Marketing Manager

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

laura.buehner@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Nick Oyer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

Nick.oyer@singlesourcetech.com

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

tulsa@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

Central/S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Drive

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC, VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

AL, GA, MS, TN

Bill Myers

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-777-8806

bill.myers@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W. TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

W. NC, Central/E. TN

Craig Montalbano

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 865-805-3686

craig.montalbano@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 770-283-4852

E-mail: gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

Steve Stratman

Tooling & Consumables

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 864-247-3567

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Tooling & Consumables

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Kenneth Boucher

Single Source Technologies (SST)

407-988-7195

kenneth.boucher@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Kelso

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.kelso@singlesourcetech.com

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, NH, NJ,

E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chapin Road, Suite 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

Jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Lane

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy., Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave. N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

W229 N2510 Duplainville Rd., Unit 2

Waukesha, WI 53186

262-960-0463

IL

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

presont.giles@singlesourcetech.com

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Drive SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

MO

Preston Giles

SST-Midwest

1135 Jansen Farm Drive

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

AZ, CA

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

N. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Janna North

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Janna.north@singlesourchtech.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire, San Diego)

Wes Colony

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage Street

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th Street E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email