Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Sinker EDMs for Large Workpieces



Makino has introduced its EDNC6 and EDNC8 sinker electrical discharge machines (EDM) that combine rigid construction, touchscreen programming and advanced performance features for accurate and fast cutting of large workpieces. "Makino's proprietary technologies included on the EDNC6 and EDNC8 are designed for the ideal mix of speed, surface finish and reduced electrode wear," said a company spokesperson.

Both machines feature the new Hyper-i control interface, which is the same system used on Makino's wire EDM products. The Hyper-i control provides operators with a user-friendly interface that can boost productivity for both Makino wire EDM and sinker EDM products.

The Hyper-i control helps to improve machine productivity by streamlining the interface so that all operator skill levels can achieve efficient results. This graphical control makes use of pinch, swipe and spread touch functions similar to smartphones and tablets and provides effective and natural operation using a 24" high-definition touchscreen monitor. The Hyper-i control is further enhanced with the integration of on-board digital manuals, intelligent E-Tech Doctor help functions and an e-Learning training system.

Both the EDNC6 and EDNC8 machines feature full three-sided programmable drop tanks that provide ergonomic access for set-up and operation. "The work tank height, which controls dielectric fluid level, can be set to match the height of the workpiece while providing optimum viewing of the machining operation," said the spokesperson.

Each machine model is available in a wide tank configuration that provides an increase in work tank size to accommodate larger workpieces. Work tank inner dimensions and machine strokes are as follows:

EDNC6:

  • Strokes: [X] 25.6" x [Y] 17.7" x [Z] 13.8" (Z 19.7" optional)
  • Standard Work Tank: 39.4" x 29.5" x 17.7"
  • Wide Work Tank: 55.1" x 35.4" x 17.7"
  • Maximum Fluid Height: 15.7".
  • EDNC8:

  • Strokes: [X] 31.5" x [Y] 19.7" x [Z] 15.7" (Z 19.7" optional)
  • Standard Work Tank: 55.1" x 35.4" x 19.7"
  • Wide Work Tank: 70.9" x 47.2" x 19.7"
  • Maximum Fluid Height: 17.7".

"Makino's patented drop-tank design allows fully open access to the table from three sides. This accessibility makes it easy to set up and measure large workpieces, check the condition in the work tank, perform other tasks that are done repeatedly every day and simplify requirements for automation," said Brian Pfluger, Makino's EDM product line manager. "The EDNC-Series provides the same level of productivity and processing capability as Makino's smaller work-zone EDAF-Series, but with a larger platform."

The design of the EDNC6 and EDNC8 also features:

  • High-mass castings to ensure mechanical and thermal stability
  • Stationary table for accurate positioning regardless of workpiece size or weight
  • Space-saving integrated reservoir in the base casting to reduce machine footprint size
  • Dual-anchored direct-drive ball screws that maintain precision long term.

"Productivity enhancing technologies on these machines include:

  • High-Speed Z-axis: The HS-Rib Z-axis configuration reduces rough machining speeds of small-size electrodes, such as plastic injection tooling ribs or pin gate details, and provides enhanced jump speeds of up to 20 m/min with 1.5 G acceleration that can reduce machining times by up to 60%.
  • HyperCut Technology: HyperCut is a new generator function that increases power levels without requiring additional reduction on the electrode, and it improves roughing speeds by up to 30% without affecting workpiece accuracy or surface quality. The technology minimizes electrode wear while providing the fastest possible machining speed.
  • SuperSpark IV: SuperSpark IV is an adaptive control technology that optimizes the machining discharge power and electrode jump motions during roughing and finishing operations. This technology is effective on rib or drafted electrodes and, when combined with HyperCut settings, can reduce total machining time by up to 50%.
  • High-Quality Surface Finish Option: All EDNC-Series sinker EDMs can be equipped with Makino's proprietary High-Quality Surface Finish (HQSF) technology that yields achievable surface finish capabilities 50% better than conventional surface finishes, regardless of discharge surface area. The HQSF technology can extend tool life through improved surface integrity and can also reduce cycle time even when fine surface finishes are not required."

For more information contact:

Laura Buehner

Marketing Manager

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

laura.buehner@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Nick Oyer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

Nick.oyer@singlesourcetech.com

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

tulsa@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

Central/S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Drive

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC, VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

AL, GA, MS, TN

Bill Myers

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-777-8806

bill.myers@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W. TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

W. NC, Central/E. TN

Craig Montalbano

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 865-805-3686

craig.montalbano@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 770-283-4852

E-mail: gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 864-247-3567

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Kenneth Boucher

Single Source Technologies (SST)

407-988-7195

kenneth.boucher@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Kelso

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.kelso@singlesourcetech.com

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, NH, NJ,

E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chapin Road, Suite 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

Jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Lane

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy., Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave. N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

W229 N2510 Duplainville Rd., Unit 2

Waukesha, WI 53186

262-960-0463

IL

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

presont.giles@singlesourcetech.com

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Drive SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

MO

Preston Giles

SST-Midwest

1135 Jansen Farm Drive

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

AZ, CA

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

N. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Janna North

Single Source Technologies (SST)

janna.north@singlesourchtech.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire, San Diego)

Wes Colony

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage Street

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th Street E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back