Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

May 2017

Skip Navigation Links.
Expand Applying TechnologyApplying Technology
Collapse Automotive-Motorsports Mfg TechAutomotive-Motorsports Mfg Tech
High Production CNC Crankshaft Grinding Machines
VMC Offers Accuracy, More Productivity
BAAM to be Centerpiece of Local Motors Automotive Microfactories
Divergent 3D Enters Partnership with SLM Solutions Group
6/8 Inch Class Compact Turning Center
Mill-Turn Center for Performance Shops
2,200 Degree F Inert Atmosphere Pit Furnace
Machining Center for 5-Axis Profiling and Head Porting
5-Axis Machining Center Offers High Capacity and Performance
Hyundai Motor Group Investing in the USA
Racing Manufacturer Opens Waterjet Job Shop, Extends Customer Base
KBDM Face Milling Platform for Automotive Aluminum
Ultra Compact HMC Reduces Floor Space by 20%
HMC Built for Large, Heavy Part Production
Multi-Bladed PCD Fine Boring Tools for Valve Housings
Flexible Solution for High-Precision Measurements
Compact, High-Speed Horizontal and Vertical Machines for High-Volume Production
Innovative, Compact Horizontal Machining Center
Endless Rotating Axis for Automotive Industry
Compact and Flexible Horizontal CNC Lathe
GKN Driveline Seeks Traceabililty
Metal 3-D Printing Pushes the Boundaries in Moto2
Power-Operated Chucks Deliver Secure Holding for Gear Grinding
Partnership Brings AM to Formula 1
Cylinder Hone Updated with Siemens Control, Safety-Integrated Drives
Vertical Grinding Machine with Automatic Chuck Changer
Synchronous Control of Skiving Technology
Capture 3-D Point Clouds on the Car Body Production Line
Expand Cutting ToolsCutting Tools
Expand EASTEC ShowEASTEC Show
Expand General EditorialsGeneral Editorials
Expand Heat TreatingHeat Treating
Expand Literature-Web TutorialsLiterature-Web Tutorials
Expand Mold MakingMold Making
Expand People In The NewsPeople In The News

show all editions →

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Compact, High-Speed Horizontal and Vertical Machines for High-Volume Production



Mazak recently introduced the new UN Series of high-speed vertical and horizontal machining centers, the UN-600/30V and UN-600/30H respectively, to meet the high productivity, reliability, maintenance and automation requirements of the growing automotive manufacturing industry.

"Designed for the mass production of automotive components, these #30 taper machines feature an extremely small footprint as indicated by their UN (ultra-narrow) designation and are up to three times more productive per unit of floor space than normal-sized machines," said the company spokesperson. "The UN Series machines are automation-friendly, allowing multiple machines to be placed together and tended by one robot."

The width of the UN-600/30V vertical machining center is 27.4" and can accommodate a maximum workpiece diameter of approximately 23.6". This is made possible by interpolating the machine C- and Y-axes for the X-axis, which is programmed in the same way as a conventional machine X-axis. The UN-600/30V offers 20-tool storage capability.

The UN-600/30H horizontal machining center has the same maximum workpiece diameter of 23.6", and is substantially smaller than other horizontal machining centers in its class. This is achieved by the machine having a compound X-axis, whereby half of the axis stroke is on the machine table and the other half is on the machine column. The UN-600/30H features 30-tool storage capability.

"New integral spindle/motors are used for faster acceleration/deceleration to provide unsurpassed high productivity," said the spokesperson. "The UN Series machines feature high-speed 20,000 RPM machine spindles that accelerate to top speeds in just .55 seconds, and perform synchronized tapping at 8,000 RPM."

The machines' linear guides and ball screws are isolated from the machining area to prevent any problems caused by the accumulation of machined chips. Additionally, areas of the machine that require frequent access, such as the lubrication and air inlets, are centrally located for convenient maintenance to ensure high machine reliability.

The new UN Series debuted at the Mazak Mass-Production Machine Fair event, which was held at the Mazak Minokamo World Technology Center July 14-15, 2016.

For more information contact:

Tasha Riddell

Mazak Corporation

P.O. Box 970

Florence, KY 41022-0970

859-342-1700

triddell@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

Southwest

Dana R. Scott

Mazak SW Technology Center

10950 Greenbend Blvd.

Houston, TX 77667

281-931-7770

dscott@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

LA

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

800-462-9519

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

OK, AR

Butch Cumminsky

David James

Machinery Resources Inc.

5550 South 94th East Avenue

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-622-6495

800-448-1878

butch@mritul.com

www.mritul.com

N. TX

Chris Papke

Mazak Corporation

935 S. Kimball St., Ste. 151

Southlake, TX 76092

800-642-6110

El Paso, TX

Felipe Arvizo

Magnum Precision Machines Inc.

12025 Rojas Dr. Suite A

El Paso, TX 79936

915-856-7900

farvizo@magnumep.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

NM

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines, Inc.

8448 Washington Place NE

Albuquerque, NM 87113

505-345-8389

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

Southeast

Dave Kennedy

Mazak Southeast Technology Center

1075 Northbrook Parkway

Suwanee, GA 30024

678-985-4800

dkennedy@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

TN

Dennis McCurry

Pinnacle Machine Tools, Inc.

5912-A Toole Drive

Knoxville, TN 37919

865-951-0260

mccurry@pinnaclemachine.net

AL

Jerry Edwards

Pinnacle Machine Tool Inc.

141 Nick Fitcheard Road

Huntsville, AL 35806

256-852-0900

edwards@pinnaclemachine.net

NC, VA

Rick Smith

MachineTech, Inc.

8100-J Arrowridge Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28273

704-665-6301

rick@machinetechcnc.com

www.machinetechcnc.com

GA, SC

Tim Kramer

Premier Engineering Co.

1635 Lakes Pkwy. Ste. U

Lawrenceville, GA 30043-5858

678-442-8382

tim@premierengineering.com

www.premierengineering.com

MS

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

FL

Mike Hessney

Joe Selway

Unbridled Technologies

P.O. Box 344

Brooksville FL 34605

888-334-8402

info@utechcnc.com

www.utechcnc.com

Northeast

New England, E. NY, NJ

Steve Wilkins

Mazak Northeast Technology Center

700 Old County Cir.

Windsor Locks, CT 06096

800-436-8900 / 860-292-4400

SWilkins@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

E. PA, MD, DE

Jim Rutan

Mazak Mid Atlantic Office

1275 Glenlivet Drive

Allentown, PA 18106

jrutan@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

W. NY

Bill Miller

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

East Aurora, NY

716-652-8282

bmiller@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

W. PA

Russ Weis

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

3 Tara Drive

PO Box 220

Harmony, PA 16037

724-453-1690

rweis@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

Midwest

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

ND, SD, MN

Joel Lundin

Tony Bailey

Northwest Machine Technologies, Inc.

20851 Commerce Blvd.

Rogers, MN 55374

763-493-3660

tbailey@nwmtec.com

www.nwmtec.com

NE, W. IA

Duane Ohlrich

Industrial Systems & Supply Inc.

2760 E. 29th Avenue

Columbus, NE 68601

402-564-4445

ohlrich@industrial-systems-supply.com

www.industrial-systems-supply.com

E. IA

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

MO, S. IL

Bill Summers

Municipal Tool & Machinery Co.

2465 Rock Island Blvd.

Maryland Heights, MO 63043

314-994-9905

bsummers@municipaltool.com

www.municipaltool.com

KS, W. MO

Nick Shelton

Concept Machinery -

A Shelton Machinery Company

6319 W. 110th St.

Overland Park, KS 66211

913-387-4413

nshelton@conceptmachinery.com

www.conceptmachinery.com

WI

Mike Cekanor

Machinery Systems North

3280 Gateway Rd.

Brookfield, WI 53045

262-781-4850

mikec@machsys.com

www.machsys.com

IL, N.W. IN

Eric Hilliard

Machinery Systems Inc.

614 East State Parkway

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-882-8085

www.machsys.com

E. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

36055 Groesbeck Highway

Clinton Township, MI 48035

586-741-3000

800-ADDY-NOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

W. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

3757 Broadmoor Ave SE, Ste. A & B

Grand Rapids, MI 49512

800-AddyNOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

S. OH

Greg Papke

Mazak Corp.

8025 Production Drive

Florence, KY 41042

859-342-1700

gpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

IN, KY

Nick Shelton

Shelton Machinery, Inc.

9900 North by Northeast Blvd.

Fisher, IN 46037

317-845-5588

www.sheltonmachinery.com

N. OH

Frank Gibbons

Numerequip

4810 Briar Road

Cleveland, OH 44135

216-265-0400

fgibbons@numerequip.com

www.numerequip.com

West

CO, E. WY

Randy Breitenbach

Action Machinery International

4950 Oakland Street

Denver, CO 80239

303-532-2900

randy@action-machinery.com

www.action-machinery.com

WA, OR

Mark Harris

CNC Machine Services, Inc.

7808 184th St. SE

Snohomish, WA 98296

425-788-4500

mharris@cncmachineservice.com

www.cncmachineservice.com

N.ID

Orville Eide

Dependable Machine

88 W Orchard Ave

Hayden, ID 83835

866-967-0146

www.dmi-cnc.com

AZ

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines

3614 E. Southern Ave. #1

Phoenix, AZ 85040

602-431-8300

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

UT, S. ID, MT, W. WY

Clark Smith

Smith Machinery Company

41 W. Guest Avenue

Salt Lake City, UT 84115

80l-263-6403

csmith@smithmachinetools.com

www.smithmachinetools.com

S. CA

Richard McCauley

Mazak West Regional Headquarters and

Aerospace Technology Center

1333 West 190th Street

Gardena, CA 90248

310-327-7172

rmccauley@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

N. CA

David Lindenmuth

Mazak San Francisco Sales and

Technical Center

1497 N. Milpitas Blvd.

Milpitas, CA 95035

408-941-2240

dlindenmuth@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

< back

Email   email