Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

May 2017

Skip Navigation Links.
Expand Applying TechnologyApplying Technology
Collapse Automotive-Motorsports Mfg TechAutomotive-Motorsports Mfg Tech
High Production CNC Crankshaft Grinding Machines
VMC Offers Accuracy, More Productivity
BAAM to be Centerpiece of Local Motors Automotive Microfactories
Divergent 3D Enters Partnership with SLM Solutions Group
6/8 Inch Class Compact Turning Center
Mill-Turn Center for Performance Shops
2,200 Degree F Inert Atmosphere Pit Furnace
Machining Center for 5-Axis Profiling and Head Porting
5-Axis Machining Center Offers High Capacity and Performance
Hyundai Motor Group Investing in the USA
Racing Manufacturer Opens Waterjet Job Shop, Extends Customer Base
KBDM Face Milling Platform for Automotive Aluminum
Ultra Compact HMC Reduces Floor Space by 20%
HMC Built for Large, Heavy Part Production
Multi-Bladed PCD Fine Boring Tools for Valve Housings
Flexible Solution for High-Precision Measurements
Compact, High-Speed Horizontal and Vertical Machines for High-Volume Production
Innovative, Compact Horizontal Machining Center
Endless Rotating Axis for Automotive Industry
Compact and Flexible Horizontal CNC Lathe
GKN Driveline Seeks Traceabililty
Metal 3-D Printing Pushes the Boundaries in Moto2
Power-Operated Chucks Deliver Secure Holding for Gear Grinding
Partnership Brings AM to Formula 1
Cylinder Hone Updated with Siemens Control, Safety-Integrated Drives
Vertical Grinding Machine with Automatic Chuck Changer
Synchronous Control of Skiving Technology
Capture 3-D Point Clouds on the Car Body Production Line
Expand Cutting ToolsCutting Tools
Expand EASTEC ShowEASTEC Show
Expand General EditorialsGeneral Editorials
Expand Heat TreatingHeat Treating
Expand Literature-Web TutorialsLiterature-Web Tutorials
Expand Mold MakingMold Making
Expand People In The NewsPeople In The News

show all editions →

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

HMC Built for Large, Heavy Part Production



Makino has announced its newest addition to the nx-series, the a120nx horizontal machining center (HMC). As the largest machining platform within the nx-series to date, this machine is built to take on oversized structural components for industrial equipment, diesel engines and semiconductor manufacturing while delivering high levels of speed and accuracy.

"You cannot approach big parts the same way you would any other part, and that is why everything about the a120nx is sized for heavy-duty manufacturing," said John Einberger, Product Line Manager at Makino. "We wanted to employ the proven designs of our other nx-series machines, such as three-point leveling and tiered column design, while ensuring that the machine could mechanically handle the unique challenges of large workpiece machining processes."

The a120nx features X-, Y- and Z-axis travels of 74.8", 63" and 66.9" (1,900 mm, 1,600 mm and 1,700 mm), and the machine's standard large pallet size of 39.4" by 39.4" provides capacity for parts weighing up to 11,000 lbs. The machine's automatic pallet changer switches from one pallet to the next in 38 seconds, minimizing non-cut times for high levels of productivity. Capable of storing up to 204 tools of wide-ranging sizes and designs, the a120nx accommodates tools up to 35.4" long, 14.0" in diameter and weighing up to 77 lbs. Tools are loaded into the automatic tool changer (ATC) from an easily accessible, ergonomically friendly exterior loading station to prevent operator fatigue.

At the foundation of the machine is a three-point supported bed casting to ensure all points are stable and contacting the floor. Developed to maintain the machine geometry and alignments, this design characteristic of the nx-series machines simplifies installation and enables easy relocation of the machine. "Building on the rigidity of the bed casting, the a120nx uses a unique tiered column design that delivers greater resistance to Z-axis cutting forces throughout the work envelope," said a company spokesperson. "Robust cross roller-style B-axis table bearings work in concert with a high force rotary clamping system to ensure stable cutting throughout the machine's expansive work zone."

The a120nx is equipped with Makino's four cone pallet location and clamping system that delivers a secure 46,500 lbs. of force on the pallet. This clamping capability, combined with all pallets built to a master pallet, is designed to eliminate deflection. An engineered precision air-blow system provides locating surfaces cleaning and pallet clamp confirmation as standard features.

Larger parts typically mean larger features, too. Tool length, diameter and weight capacities of the a120nx support processes that feature the use of large face mills, boring bars and line-bar tooling.

To further help ensure ideal geometry and accuracy, the a120nx has a number of systems in place to manage the heat generated by rapid traverse of 2,126" per minute. The ball screws are core-cooled in all axes to give consistent accuracy during continuous production. Moreover, the ball screws are all dual supported and pre-tensioned to provide dynamic positioning repeatability. Feature-to-feature movement distances on large parts are typically much greater, so rapid traverse rates were increased for the a120nx in order to cover these expansive distances quickly.

The a120nx is designed to improve productivity in cutting and non-cutting performance. "The standard high torque 8,000 RPM spindle boosts continuous power levels by 19% over levels typical to machines of this class," said the spokesperson. With 50 continuous (74 peak) horsepower available, this spindle is suited for heavy roughing of iron castings and hard metal applications. In addition, the spindle features improvements in acceleration and deceleration due to its high duty rated performance characteristics that are designed to reduce rigid tapping times by up to 30%. Also available is an optional 18,000 RPM high power spindle suited to high metal removal rate machining of light alloy structural components.

"Chip and coolant management features are often overlooked and result in interrupted operations, increased labor costs, machine damage, part quality issues and reduced tool life," said the spokesperson. "The a120nx enables shop owners to avoid these challenges with supplementary management features, including a sloped surface to remove obstacles between the workpiece and an external chip conveyor, letting chips fall freely." The trough design facilitates rapid chip and coolant evacuation and reduces maintenance needs with a solid panel Z-axis cover design. A standard cyclonic filter provides clean coolant to the through spindle coolant pump and acts as a secondary coolant filter, polishing coolant in the main tank.

The a120nx comes to the market automation ready, being fully compatible with Makino's versatile multi-machine, multi-pallet MMC2 flexible manufacturing system, complete with Makino's MAS-A5 cell controller.

For more information contact:

Laura Buehner

Marketing Manager

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

laura.buehner@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Nick Oyer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

Nick.oyer@singlesourcetech.com

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

tulsa@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

Central/S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Drive

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC, VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

AL, GA, MS, TN

Bill Myers

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-777-8806

bill.myers@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W. TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

W. NC, Central/E. TN

Craig Montalbano

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 865-805-3686

craig.montalbano@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 770-283-4852

E-mail: gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 864-247-3567

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Kenneth Boucher

Single Source Technologies (SST)

407-988-7195

kenneth.boucher@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Kelso

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.kelso@singlesourcetech.com

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, NH, NJ,

E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chapin Road, Suite 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

Jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Lane

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy., Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave. N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

W229 N2510 Duplainville Rd., Unit 2

Waukesha, WI 53186

262-960-0463

IL

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

presont.giles@singlesourcetech.com

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Drive SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

MO

Preston Giles

SST-Midwest

1135 Jansen Farm Drive

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

AZ, CA

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

N. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Janna North

Single Source Technologies (SST)

janna.north@singlesourchtech.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire, San Diego)

Wes Colony

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage Street

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th Street E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email