Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

New Smart Automation System



Mazak, in a collaborative effort with Murata Machinery, Ltd. (Muratec), has developed its new MAZATEC Smart Manufacturing System (SMS) that provides unmanned, lights-out manufacturing and high output, as well as IIoT connectivity.

The MAZATEC SMS combines Mazak's machining, automation and Smart technologies with Muratec's automated high-density storage and retrieval system. The MAZATEC SMS pairs multiple Mazak horizontal machining centers and/or multitasking machines with a Muratec vertically orientated, space-saving stocker-type system that has pallets, a material bucket and high-speed stocker crane. To match each manufacturer's specific production and floor space needs, the modular system is designed to have up to 150 stockers (in different sizes) in a six-level configuration that increases space efficiency by as much as 67%.

As key components of the MAZATEC SMS, Mazak's SmartBox IIoT technology and Smooth PMC production management software along with Muratec's automated system control all interconnect/synchronize with a customer's enterprise resource planning ERP/MRP host and MES execution systems. "These highly advanced digital innovations and complete connectivity make the MAZATEC SMS a smart factory solution for process control, monitoring and optimization to produce a variety of workpieces - even in small lot sizes - with extremely high efficiency," said a company spokesperson.

The MAZATEC SMS is suited to incorporate various sizes and types of machine tools into the same automated manufacturing system. "Such flexibility is possible because the stocker system sets up faster and easier as well as accommodates different size machine tool pallets, as does the system's single stocker crane. This capability also allows manufacturers to apply the MAZATEC SMS across a more expansive spectrum of part numbers/types for cost effectiveness and increased ROI," said the spokesperson.

Peripheral equipment for the MAZATEC SMS includes individual stations for loading and centering, tilt loading, raise and lower loading, work set up and part washing. In addition to keeping the machine tools supplied with work, the system's stocker crane handles the MAZATEC SMS overall input of raw parts and the output of finished ones.

"With the combined technologies of Mazak and Muratec, the MAZATEC SMS advanced manufacturing system will significantly increase the competitiveness of manufacturers in today's IIoT environment," said Brian Papke, Chairman of Mazak. "We at Mazak believe that such collaborations with other innovators in the manufacturing industry effectively foster new ideas and ways to combine processes and apply new technologies to improve the manufacturing performance of customers," he said.

"For its part of the collaboration, Muratec contributes Automated Storage & Retrieval Systems (AS/RS) durability and reliability. The company and its systems are well entrenched in the automotive and other industrial manufacturing environments. Unlike other comparable systems that tend to be standard in nature, Muratec's base units are much more customizable and configurable for a wider range of applications," said a Muratec spokesperson.

For more information contact:

Tasha Riddell

Mazak Corporation

P.O. Box 970

Florence, KY 41022-0970

859-342-1700

triddell@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

Southwest

Chris Papke

Mazak SW Technology Center

10950 Greenbend Blvd.

Houston, TX 77667

281-931-7770

cpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

LA

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

800-462-9519

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

OK, AR

Butch Cumminsky

David James

Machinery Resources Inc.

5550 South 94th East Avenue

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-622-6495

800-448-1878

butch@mritul.com

www.mritul.com

N. TX

Chris Papke

Mazak Corporation

935 S. Kimball St., Ste. 151

Southlake, TX 76092

800-642-6110

cpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakcorp.com

El Paso, TX

Felipe Arvizo

Magnum Precision Machines Inc.

12025 Rojas Dr. Suite A

El Paso, TX 79936

915-856-7900

farvizo@magnumep.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

NM

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines, Inc.

8448 Washington Place NE

Albuquerque, NM 87113

505-345-8389

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

Southeast

Dave Kennedy

Mazak Southeast Technology Center

1075 Northbrook Parkway

Suwanee, GA 30024

678-985-4800

dkennedy@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

TN

Dennis McCurry

Pinnacle Machine Tools, Inc.

5912-A Toole Drive

Knoxville, TN 37919

865-951-0260

mccurry@pinnaclemachine.net

AL

Jerry Edwards

Pinnacle Machine Tool Inc.

141 Nick Fitcheard Road

Huntsville, AL 35806

256-852-0900

edwards@pinnaclemachine.net

NC, VA

Rick Smith

MachineTech, Inc.

8100-J Arrowridge Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28273

704-665-6301

rick@machinetechcnc.com

www.machinetechcnc.com

GA, SC

Tim Kramer

Premier Engineering Co.

1635 Lakes Pkwy. Ste. U

Lawrenceville, GA 30043-5858

678-442-8382

tim@premierengineering.com

www.premierengineering.com

MS

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

FL

Mike Hessney

Joe Selway

Unbridled Technologies

P.O. Box 344

Brooksville FL 34605

888-334-8402

info@utechcnc.com

www.utechcnc.com

Northeast

New England, E. NY, NJ

Steve Wilkins

Mazak Northeast Technology Center

700 Old County Cir.

Windsor Locks, CT 06096

800-436-8900 / 860-292-4400

SWilkins@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

E. PA, MD, DE

Jim Rutan

Mazak Mid Atlantic Office

1275 Glenlivet Drive

Allentown, PA 18106

jrutan@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

W. NY

Bill Miller

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

East Aurora, NY

716-652-8282

bmiller@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

W. PA

Russ Weis

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

3 Tara Drive

PO Box 220

Harmony, PA 16037

724-453-1690

rweis@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

Midwest

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

ND, SD, MN

Joel Lundin

Tony Bailey

Northwest Machine Technologies, Inc.

20851 Commerce Blvd.

Rogers, MN 55374

763-493-3660

tbailey@nwmtec.com

www.nwmtec.com

NE, W. IA

Duane Ohlrich

Industrial Systems & Supply Inc.

2760 E. 29th Avenue

Columbus, NE 68601

402-564-4445

ohlrich@industrial-systems-supply.com

www.industrial-systems-supply.com

E. IA

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

MO, S. IL

Bill Summers

Municipal Tool & Machinery Co.

2465 Rock Island Blvd.

Maryland Heights, MO 63043

314-994-9905

bsummers@municipaltool.com

www.municipaltool.com

KS, W. MO

Nick Shelton

Concept Machinery -

A Shelton Machinery Company

6319 W. 110th St.

Overland Park, KS 66211

913-387-4413

nshelton@conceptmachinery.com

www.conceptmachinery.com

WI

Mike Cekanor

Machinery Systems North

3280 Gateway Rd.

Brookfield, WI 53045

262-781-4850

mikec@machsys.com

www.machsys.com

IL, N.W. IN

Eric Hilliard

Machinery Systems Inc.

614 East State Parkway

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-882-8085

www.machsys.com

E. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

36055 Groesbeck Highway

Clinton Township, MI 48035

586-741-3000

800-ADDY-NOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

W. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

3757 Broadmoor Ave SE, Ste. A & B

Grand Rapids, MI 49512

800-AddyNOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

S. OH

Greg Papke

Mazak Corp.

8025 Production Drive

Florence, KY 41042

859-342-1700

gpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

IN, KY

Nick Shelton

Shelton Machinery, Inc.

9900 North by Northeast Blvd.

Fisher, IN 46037

317-845-5588

www.sheltonmachinery.com

N. OH

Frank Gibbons

Numerequip

4810 Briar Road

Cleveland, OH 44135

216-265-0400

fgibbons@numerequip.com

www.numerequip.com

West

CO, E. WY

Randy Breitenbach

Action Machinery International

4950 Oakland Street

Denver, CO 80239

303-532-2900

randy@action-machinery.com

www.action-machinery.com

WA, OR

Mark Harris

CNC Machine Services, Inc.

7808 184th St. SE

Snohomish, WA 98296

425-788-4500

mharris@cncmachineservice.com

www.cncmachineservice.com

N.ID

Orville Eide

Dependable Machine

88 W Orchard Ave

Hayden, ID 83835

866-967-0146

www.dmi-cnc.com

AZ

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines

3614 E. Southern Ave. #1

Phoenix, AZ 85040

602-431-8300

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

UT, S. ID, MT, W. WY

Clark Smith

Smith Machinery Company

41 W. Guest Avenue

Salt Lake City, UT 84115

80l-263-6403

csmith@smithmachinetools.com

www.smithmachinetools.com

S. CA

Richard McCauley

Mazak West Regional Headquarters and

Aerospace Technology Center

1333 West 190th Street

Gardena, CA 90248

310-327-7172

rmccauley@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

N. CA

David Lindenmuth

Mazak San Francisco Sales and

Technical Center

1497 N. Milpitas Blvd.

Milpitas, CA 95035

408-941-2240

dlindenmuth@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

< back

Email   email