Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Pallet-Handling System Enables 95 Percent Machine Utilization



Makino has announced a new design configuration for its MMC2 automated pallet-handling system, which enables full compatibility with the company's a61nx-5E 5-axis horizontal machining center. "Together, these technologies offer a powerhouse combination of processing speed and flexibility, giving aerospace manufacturers more control over their workflow and the ability to adapt quickly to customers' just-in-time needs for complex, multi-dimension part applications," said a company spokesperson.

The updated MMC2 retains the same modular design and capabilities of its predecessors, but with a new pallet-transfer interface on the system's rail-guided vehicle (RGV). This interface is suited to handle the pallet designs used on the a61nx-5E. As a result, manufacturers are able to achieve spindle utilization rates upwards of 95% to further maximize the value of their a61nx-5E investment.

"Based on feedback from current a61nx-5E owners, we realized that the machine's productive capabilities were so high that most operators were struggling to keep their machines fed with raw materials," said David Ward, Product Marketing Manager at Makino. "While we see this as a good problem to have, it is still an issue that we wanted to address. By providing this optional pallet interface on the MMC2, we are able to help manufacturers keep up with the productivity rates of the a61nx-5E to get the most value out of their investments," he said.

The MMC2 is designed to accommodate up to 15 machining centers and four work-setting stations into a single system. Each system can hold up to 200 pallet stockers-stacked either one, two or three layers high-with a virtually unlimited variety of parts and fixtures.

The system's RGV is supported by a floor rail and upper-guide rail for enhanced stability and simultaneous, high-speed movement. The system's work-setting stations (WSS) provide access for operators to load and unload parts either by hand or crane. Each WSS has 180-degree pivoting doors to save space and prevent a cluttered work area. The MMC2 can be equipped with optional workpiece washing guns.

"Users of the MMC2 frequently report spindle utilization rate improvements of up to 95%, leading to increases in production without adding staff or equipment. The MMC2 system permits users to virtually eliminate part set-up time, reducing non-value-added time in their machining operations. By providing a continual flow of parts to the a61nx-5E, the system can run for extended periods unattended, including over nights and weekends," said a company spokesperson.

"The updated MMC2 retains the same Microsoft Windows-based MAS-A5 control software to maximize production output while monitoring multi-machine production requirements. The MAS-A5 main PC hard drive stores and manages all NC programs for optimum machine utilization, including NC programs that exceed CNC memory. With these storage capabilities, there is practically no limit to the number of fixtures and associated process sequences and offsets that can be logically assigned to an individual pallet," said the spokesperson.

Tool data, both in and out of the a61nx-5E machines, can be accessed and modified from the MAS-A5 user interface. A variety of file formats for tooling and part information are supported and can be displayed to assist with part loading/unloading and tool-setting operations. The Tool-Life Predict function enables the MAS-A5 to gather tool-life data per NC program. When a request is opened, this function informs the operator of how long a tool is used in each NC program execution, as well as how many spare tools per machine are required to finish any work that is currently loaded or awaiting processing at the time that the request was placed. The MAS-A5 then schedules work only for the machines that meet tool-life and availability requirements for the desired process sequence. Interfacing with a tool presetter also reduces errors by automatically capturing tool-offset data, which can be transferred from the presetter to the MAS-A5 system control.

Standard control features include in-cell production scheduling, equipment status monitoring, NC program management and on-board reporting. These capabilities enable the MMC2 to assign work and initiate operations automatically, based on machine and material availability, using maximum spindle capabilities and monitoring all automated procedures.

For more information contact:

Laura Buehner

Marketing Manager

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

laura.buehner@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

roger_thompson@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

SC

Jason Piechowiak

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 864-498-2664

jason.piechowiak@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

Central & S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Drive

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC & VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W.TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Kelso

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.kelso@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 770-283-4852

gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Kenneth Boucher

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

407-988-7195

kenneth.boucher@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: (281) 254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Drive

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 864-247-3567

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

Rob Ehrman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, NH,

NJ, E. PA, RI, Long Island

SST - EDM Consumables

30 Chapin Road Suite 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

SST - EDM Consumables

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Lane

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy. Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI, IL, MO

Mike McGuire

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

NE

Productivity, Inc.

3435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Drive SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St., Bldg #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K,

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street STE K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire,

San Diego, Wes Colony)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street STE K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street STE K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA

Jamie Layden - Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 657-240-5414

jamie.layden@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Moncktons Machine Tools

637 Osage Street

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th Street E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email