Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

October 2017

Skip Navigation Links.
Expand Applying TechnologyApplying Technology
Expand FABTECH ShowFABTECH Show
Expand Gear ExpoGear Expo
Expand General EditorialsGeneral Editorials
Expand Machinery-Metalcutting-ChipmakingMachinery-Metalcutting-Chipmaking
Expand Machine MaintenanceMachine Maintenance
Expand People In The NewsPeople In The News
Collapse SoftwareSoftware
Insta-Code Thread Mill Programmer Available for Download
3-D Printing: Additive Works Joins the Altair Partner Alliance
New Remote Monitoring Tools for Grinding Production
Updated Ribbon-Style User Interface
ByVision Cutting Control
Simplified Finding/Downloading 3-D CAD Engineering Data
TruePath 2018 Release
VERICUT's CGTech Enhances MachiningCloud Connection
Speed, Simplify Technical Illustration Workflow
CAD Conversion for PDM Integration
Partnership to Include 3DEXPERIENCE Platform
ESPRIT Additive Suite Offers 3-D Printing Solutions
New Tool for Discrete Element Modeling
Software for Automated Pallet Handling
CAM Software with CNC Programming Automation
GibbsCAM 2016 is Certified for Autodesk Inventor 2017
Visualize Manufacturers' Data with New .NET Dashboards
Measurement Software Release Offers Improved Workflows
New and Enhanced Features to CAD/CAM Nesting Software
Adaptive Post-Processing Software
IMSpost 8.2 Supports Demanding Applications
Communicating Inspection Results Directly in 3-D
Labor Management Software
Service Pack 1 for CAD Model Translation, Repair and Simplification
Machine Monitoring with Mobile Devices
Innovations for Digitalization of Companies
SGI Software Shortens Machining Cycle Times
CAD/CAM Software Focused on Efficiency and Speed
New IIoT Solution
HMI Features Predictive Maintenance Information
Database-Driven Tool Management Software
CAM Software Offers Speed, Versatility
Software Feature for Producing Linear Patterns on Flat Surfaces
Fagor Native Protocol Added to FactoryWiz Monitoring
CoroPlus Solutions Now Available in Mastercam
Project Management Software
SecturaFAB Enhanced to Include Stock Management Capability
Touch HMI Makes Machine File Transfers Easy
Nesting Software Provides Improved Efficiency
New Verification Technology
CAM Module Offers Performance and Automation Enhancements
EzyDM - Discrete Manufacturing Solution on SAP S/4 HANA
Real-Time Manufacturing Software
ERP Software for Small to Mid-Sized Companies
Simplify Capture and Integration of Shop Floor Data
Tool Data Management Software
New and Improved CAD/CAM Functions Simplify Work
Automatically Create Data Rich 3-D PDFs
New B-Axis Turning Cycle
WorkNC 2017 R2 Improves Roughing
Operator Panel and Tickets Collaboration Solutions
3-D Visualization Environment for Evaluating Material Appearance
New Cloud-Enabling Technology for Product Development Organizations
Synergy 3000 Adds Speed and Accessibility
Optimized Stability, Upgraded Translator
Expand South TEK ShowSouth TEK Show

show all editions →

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

SGI Software Shortens Machining Cycle Times



Makino has introduced SGI.5, its latest version of Super Geometric Intelligence software for high-feedrate, tight-tolerance machining of complex 3-D contoured shapes.

"SGI.5 is the next-generation Makino advancement, culminating a decade of leadership in high-speed, high-accuracy motion control in complex 3-D contouring applications," said Bill Howard, Vertical Machining Product Manager at Makino. "Continuous product development and technology innovations and advancements in Makino proprietary software and motion control/servo technology have altered the traditional speeds and feeds typically used to manufacture these types of parts."

"The technology facilitates previously unachievable levels of accuracy and reductions in cycle time. Depending upon the specific geometry of the application, SGI.5 can provide 20 to 60% faster cycle times while maintaining accuracy and surface finishes," said a company spokesperson.

SGI.5 combines the rigidity of the machine structure, ideal kinematics of the machine drive systems and the latest advancements in servo drive technologies with Makino's sophisticated proprietary software. "The result is unmatched speed, high feeds and tight accuracies when executing NC programs with micro-blocks whose traverse movement value is 1 mm or less," said the spokesperson. This is characteristic of the complex 3-D free, curved surface shapes found in the die/mold, medical, aerospace and other high-performance milling applications.

For more information contact:

Laura Buehner

Marketing Manager

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

laura.buehner@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

roger_thompson@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

SC

Jason Piechowiak

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 864-498-2664

jason.piechowiak@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

Central & S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Drive

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC & VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W.TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Kelso

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.kelso@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 770-283-4852

gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Kenneth Boucher

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

407-988-7195

kenneth.boucher@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: (281) 254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Drive

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 864-247-3567

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

Rob Ehrman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, NH,

NJ, E. PA, RI, Long Island

SST - EDM Consumables

30 Chapin Road Suite 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

SST - EDM Consumables

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd, Ste 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Lane

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy. Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI, IL, MO

Mike McGuire

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

NE

Productivity, Inc.

3435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Drive SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K,

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street STE K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire,

San Diego, Wes Colony)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street STE K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street STE K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA

Jamie Layden

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 657-240-5414

jamie.layden@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Moncktons Machine Tools

637 Osage Street

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th Street E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email