Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Turning Center Makes Multitasking Easy for Shops of All Sizes



Mazak's QTU-200MY turning center is designed to provide shops of all sizes ease of use, cost-effectiveness and enhanced productivity. The space-saving machine features a main turning spindle, tool turret with rotary milling spindle, Mazak's new MAZATROL SmoothC control and Y-axis off-centerline capabilities for high versatility paired with all the benefits of multitasking part processing.

The machine's headstock incorporates Mazak's (built-in) spindle/motor design that eliminates the need for belts or pulleys for zero backlash or any belt stick/slip. The A2-6, 20 HP (15 kW)(15% ED) main turning spindle provides speeds from 35 RPM up to 6,000 RPM with 90 ft-lbs. of torque for heavy-duty metal removal. Its spindle bore diameter of 2.4" (61 mm) accommodates a maximum bar diameter of 2" (42 mm).

The main turning spindle also serves as a full 360° C-axis that indexes in 0.001° increments. It is a full-function CNC programmable axis that accurately positions parts for complex and prismatic machining along with 3-D contouring.

Additionally, the QTU-200MY is outfitted with a 12-position, integral-motor turret that uses a roller gear cam drive system for smooth, high-speed, high-accuracy digital indexing as well as expandability. The innovative turret eliminates the need for curvic/index couplings and with the use of tandem tooling, allows the number of tool positions to be expanded. This is possible because it indexes digitally to any position without changes to the turret housing. And once in position, an integral hydraulic clamping system ensures maximum rigidity.

The turret's rotary tool spindle delivers 4,500 RPM (standard) and 6,000 RPM (optional) to perform milling, drilling and tapping operations. The standard mill spindle provides 34.7 ft-lb. of torque, while the optional higher speed version generates 17 ft-lbs.

Because it features Y-axis off-centerline machining capability, the QTU-200MY uses Mazak's special high-gain servo-control turret/feed-axis motion. "The double-slide configuration delivers rigid, high-speed, precise positioning as well as smooth axis acceleration/deceleration," said a company spokesperson. The machine's X-axis ball screws work in tandem with the Y-axis ball screws that are inclined at 30° to move the turret 3.94" (100 mm) in the Y-axis.

The machine also features an NC servo-driven tailstock to enable automated processes. The fully programmable tailstock utilizes its own AC servomotor and ball screw. Through the part program, the tailstock extends to a known position and with an approach feedrate, makes contact with the part with consistent holding pressure. Because of its positive independent drive system, the tailstock can drill holes on shaft centerlines, which adds versatility to the jobs it can process.

Tailstock thrust settings are adjustable in increments of 22.5 ft-lbs. of force. This provides users the option to set thrust levels according to workpiece material and shape. A capability that eliminates the risk of part damage while simultaneously providing safe and secure holding and support with thrust settings between 225 lbs. (minimum) and 1,1124 lbs. (maximum).

The QTU-200MY MAZATROL SmoothC CNC offers EIA/ISO programming as well as conversational programming that makes it easy to generate programs for angled drilling, milling or tapping operations. The control also features advanced hardware and software functions that help ensure high productivity and performance accuracy in complex part production.

With a new high-rigidity base/bed design, the QTU-200MY ensures thermal control, ample part capacity and speed stability. The machine's swing capacity measures 27.4" (696 mm), and it accommodates part diameters up to 13.4" (340 mm). Rapid traverse rates are 1,181 IPM (30 m/min) in the X-axis and 1,417 IPM (36 m/min) in Z.

A variety of automation strategies can be integrated with the QTU-200MY, from an automatic bar feeder to gantry robots and custom solutions, for improved spindle utilization and a significant boost in productivity.

For more information contact:

Tasha Riddell

Mazak Corporation

P.O. Box 970

Florence, KY 41022-0970

859-342-1700

triddell@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

Southwest

Chris Papke

Mazak SW Technology Center

10950 Greenbend Blvd.

Houston, TX 77667

281-931-7770

cpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

LA

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

800-462-9519

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

OK, AR

Butch Cumminsky

David James

Machinery Resources Inc.

5550 South 94th East Avenue

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-622-6495

800-448-1878

butch@mritul.com

www.mritul.com

N. TX

Chris Papke

Mazak Corporation

935 S. Kimball St., Ste. 151

Southlake, TX 76092

800-642-6110

cpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakcorp.com

El Paso, TX

Felipe Arvizo

Magnum Precision Machines Inc.

12025 Rojas Dr. Suite A

El Paso, TX 79936

915-856-7900

farvizo@magnumep.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

NM

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines, Inc.

8448 Washington Place NE

Albuquerque, NM 87113

505-345-8389

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

Southeast

Dave Kennedy

Mazak Southeast Technology Center

1075 Northbrook Parkway

Suwanee, GA 30024

678-985-4800

dkennedy@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

TN

Dennis McCurry

Pinnacle Machine Tools, Inc.

5912-A Toole Drive

Knoxville, TN 37919

865-951-0260

mccurry@pinnaclemachine.net

AL

Jerry Edwards

Pinnacle Machine Tool Inc.

141 Nick Fitcheard Road

Huntsville, AL 35806

256-852-0900

edwards@pinnaclemachine.net

NC, VA

Rick Smith

MachineTech, Inc.

8100-J Arrowridge Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28273

704-665-6301

rick@machinetechcnc.com

www.machinetechcnc.com

GA, SC

Tim Kramer

Premier Engineering Co.

1635 Lakes Pkwy. Ste. U

Lawrenceville, GA 30043-5858

678-442-8382

tim@premierengineering.com

www.premierengineering.com

MS

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

FL

Mike Hessney

Joe Selway

Unbridled Technologies

P.O. Box 344

Brooksville FL 34605

888-334-8402

info@utechcnc.com

www.utechcnc.com

Northeast

New England, E. NY, NJ

Steve Wilkins

Mazak Northeast Technology Center

700 Old County Cir.

Windsor Locks, CT 06096

800-436-8900 / 860-292-4400

SWilkins@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

E. PA, MD, DE

Jim Rutan

Mazak Mid Atlantic Office

1275 Glenlivet Drive

Allentown, PA 18106

jrutan@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

W. NY

Bill Miller

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

East Aurora, NY

716-652-8282

bmiller@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

W. PA

Russ Weis

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

3 Tara Drive

PO Box 220

Harmony, PA 16037

724-453-1690

rweis@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

Midwest

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

ND, SD, MN

Joel Lundin

Tony Bailey

Northwest Machine Technologies, Inc.

20851 Commerce Blvd.

Rogers, MN 55374

763-493-3660

tbailey@nwmtec.com

www.nwmtec.com

NE, W. IA

Duane Ohlrich

Industrial Systems & Supply Inc.

2760 E. 29th Avenue

Columbus, NE 68601

402-564-4445

ohlrich@industrial-systems-supply.com

www.industrial-systems-supply.com

E. IA

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

MO, S. IL

Bill Summers

Municipal Tool & Machinery Co.

2465 Rock Island Blvd.

Maryland Heights, MO 63043

314-994-9905

bsummers@municipaltool.com

www.municipaltool.com

KS, W. MO

Nick Shelton

Concept Machinery -

A Shelton Machinery Company

6319 W. 110th St.

Overland Park, KS 66211

913-387-4413

nshelton@conceptmachinery.com

www.conceptmachinery.com

WI

Mike Cekanor

Machinery Systems North

3280 Gateway Rd.

Brookfield, WI 53045

262-781-4850

mikec@machsys.com

www.machsys.com

IL, N.W. IN

Eric Hilliard

Machinery Systems Inc.

614 East State Parkway

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-882-8085

www.machsys.com

E. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

36055 Groesbeck Highway

Clinton Township, MI 48035

586-741-3000

800-ADDY-NOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

W. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

3757 Broadmoor Ave SE, Ste. A & B

Grand Rapids, MI 49512

800-AddyNOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

S. OH

Greg Papke

Mazak Corp.

8025 Production Drive

Florence, KY 41042

859-342-1700

gpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

IN, KY

Nick Shelton

Shelton Machinery, Inc.

9900 North by Northeast Blvd.

Fisher, IN 46037

317-845-5588

www.sheltonmachinery.com

N. OH

Frank Gibbons

Numerequip

4810 Briar Road

Cleveland, OH 44135

216-265-0400

fgibbons@numerequip.com

www.numerequip.com

West

CO, E. WY

Randy Breitenbach

Action Machinery International

4950 Oakland Street

Denver, CO 80239

303-532-2900

randy@action-machinery.com

www.action-machinery.com

WA, OR

Mark Harris

CNC Machine Services, Inc.

7808 184th St. SE

Snohomish, WA 98296

425-788-4500

mharris@cncmachineservice.com

www.cncmachineservice.com

N.ID

Orville Eide

Dependable Machine

88 W Orchard Ave

Hayden, ID 83835

866-967-0146

www.dmi-cnc.com

AZ

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines

3614 E. Southern Ave. #1

Phoenix, AZ 85040

602-431-8300

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

UT, S. ID, MT, W. WY

Clark Smith

Smith Machinery Company

41 W. Guest Avenue

Salt Lake City, UT 84115

80l-263-6403

csmith@smithmachinetools.com

www.smithmachinetools.com

S. CA

Richard McCauley

Mazak West Regional Headquarters and

Aerospace Technology Center

1333 West 190th Street

Gardena, CA 90248

310-327-7172

rmccauley@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

N. CA

David Lindenmuth

Mazak San Francisco Sales and

Technical Center

1497 N. Milpitas Blvd.

Milpitas, CA 95035

408-941-2240

dlindenmuth@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

< back

Email   email