Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

MSCI Announces Board Chairman

Holman Head, President & COO, O'Neal Industries, Birmingham, AL, has been elected the chairman of the board for the Metals Service Center Institute (MSCI).

"It is an honor to take this role. There is an opportunity now to make a real impact and advocate for change in key issues, such as trade, that have hurt the health of the industrial metals supply chain," said Head. "I look forward to being an integral part of helping MSCI make sure the metals industry's voice is heard."

Head, a more than 35-year veteran of the metals industry and O'Neal Industries, began his career there in inside sales. He rose through the ranks, becoming President and CEO of O'Neal Steel and Executive VP of O'Neal Industries in 2009. In 2014, he became President and COO.

Head has served as Vice Chairman of MSCI and takes over for Richard A. Robinson, President of Norfolk Iron & Metal Company, Norfolk, NE, who served as chairman for the last two years. Both Robinson and Head have taken an active role in the association on behalf of the industry, providing testimony before the U.S. Trade Representative on the global steel situation and before the U.S. International Trade Commission addressing trade violations impacting the aluminum industry.

New members of the executive committee include:

  • Vice Chair: William T. Chisholm, Samuel, Son & Co., Limited, President & CEO
  • Regular Committee Member: John Lamprinakos, Worthington Industries, Inc., Steel Processing, President.

    New division and committee chairs include:

  • Brian Cleveland, Clayton Metals, Inc., President - Division Chair, Aluminum Products
  • David Harrold, Alro Steel Jackson, Vice President, Corporate Purchasing - Division Chair, Bar Products
  • Arnold Robinson, Norfolk Iron & Metal, Co., CEO - Division Chair, Plates & Shapes
  • John T. Simon, Steel Pipe Supply Companies, Inc., Executive Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer - Division Chair, Tubular Products
  • Ken Sotern, EMJ, Commodity Manager - Division Chair, Specialty Metals.

Retiring members include:

  • Board of Directors: John Palesny, Petersen Aluminum Corp., President
  • Executive Committee: David Hannah, Reliance Steel & Aluminum Co., retired former President, Chairman and CEO; Geoff Gilmore, Worthington Steel, President, pressure cylinders division
  • Product Division: Ray Bauer, Commercial Metals Company, Manager Marketing Services; Phil Rizzo, Tufts Grinding, Inc., Vice President, Sales; Larry Soehrman, Chicago Tube & Iron Co., Vice President, Materials Management.

For more information contact:

Metals Service Center Institute

4201 Euclid Ave

Rolling Meadows, IL 60008


< back