Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

EDM Drill for Blade and Vane Turbine Engine Components



Makino offers a new version of the EDBV3 machine, which is an EDM drilling machine designed for producing cooling film holes in blade and vane turbine engine component details. The EDBV3 utilizes a fully submerged operation to enhance machining speed and accuracy. The submerged operation is a critical element for stable breaking through operations, especially when machining into a hollow internal cavity, and the machine is capable of detecting break through within one second. The EDBV3 will also use Makino's new fully digital ES200A generator that provides faster machining speeds with an increase in power of up to 80 Amps, and uses the Hyper-i control that delivers a common interface for all Makino EDM's and contains many helpful advanced functions that support every need of the operator to boost productivity.

The revised EDBV3 machine design has focused on streamlining production applications, and is engineered to improve the machining speed while minimizing the non-value-added motions. The rapid feedrate of the machines X/Y/Z travels of 370 mm x 270 mm x 750 mm (14.65" x 10.63" x 29.53") has been doubled from 5 meters-per-minute to 10 meters-per-minute, which will reduce the overall tact time for positioning. The machines standard integrated 2-axis rotary table has also been reconfigured so that the workpiece is closer to the center of rotation (reduces positioning distance), and the indexing speed has been improved from 3 RPM to 10 RPM.

The new EDBV3 provides a larger Z-axis stroke that supports electrode tube lengths up to 750 mm (29.5"), and features a fully enclosed work zone with interlocks for increased safety. The ATC (automatic tool change) times have been reduced, as the ATC unit has been raised so that the work tank does not need to more or drain during electrode exchanges. The machine layout has been optimized so that maintenance access is minimized, allowing machines to be installed closer together to reduce the total floor space requirements.

For more information contact:

Kara Valz

Director of Marketing

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

kara.valz@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

roger_thompson@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

SC

Jason Piechowiak

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 864-498-2664

jason.piechowiak@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

Central & S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Dr.

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC & VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

N. MS

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Derek Sanders

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-560-1353

derek.sanders@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Chad Brown

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 706-510-5542

chad.brown@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Schnars

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.schnars@singlesourcetech.com

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

TN

Tony Turner

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

321-800-5523

tony.turner@singlesourcetech.com

FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, NH, NJ, MD, E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chaplin Rd., Ste. 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

CT

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

255 Myrtle St.

New Britain, CT 06053

860-223-0236

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

253 Silver St.

P.O. Box 507

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

SST - EDM Consumables

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

OH, IN, KY

Kris Kimbrell

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

513-520-6232

Cell: 657-240-0361

kris.kimbrell@singlesourcetech.com

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI, IL, MO

Mike McGuire

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Dr. SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg. #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K,

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire,

San Diego, Wes Colony)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bret Morris

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-659-0552

bret.morris@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA

Jamie Layden

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 657-240-5414

jamie.layden@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

P.O. Box 12346

Phoenix, AZ 85284

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

RaeAnne Blaski

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

P.O. Box 12346

Phoenix, AZ 85284

Cell: 602-686-0895

raeanne.blaski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage St.

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th St. E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back