Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Streamlined Certified Welding Inspector Process

The American Welding Society (AWS) offers a pathway for certain IIW diploma holders to achieve the AWS Certified Welding Inspector (CWI) credential through the "CWI by IIW Waiver" program.

The traditional route of earning the CWI credential is by passing a three-part exam: Part A (Fundamentals) tests general welding knowledge, Part B (Practical) involves hands-on testing of welding inspection techniques and Part C (open codebook) tests knowledge of a particular welding codebook.

IIW diploma holders have an opportunity to streamline the process of earning the CWI credential. By submitting evidence of one of the following IIW diplomas, they can apply for a waiver from taking Part A (Fundamentals) and need only to pass Part B (Practical) and Part C (Open codebook) exams to possess both IIW and AWS credentials: International Welding Engineer (IWE), International Welding Technologist (IWT)International Welding Specialist (IWS), International Welding Inspection (IWIP-C, IWIP-S, IWIP-B).

"In this competitive global environment, having dual credentials through both AWS and IIW can provide a competitive edge," said John Gayler, AWS' Senior VP of Welding and Technology. "By offering the CWI by IIW Waiver program, AWS has paved the way for IIW diploma holders to possibly open career opportunities."

For more information contact:

American Welding Society

8669 NW 36 Street, #130

Miami, FL 33166-6672

800-443-9353 / 305-443-9353

< back