Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

ASSP 2020 Elections

Deborah Roy

The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP) has announced its new leaders from the 2020 Society elections. All terms begin July 1. Deborah Roy will serve as ASSP President for 2020-21.

ASSP's newly elected leaders include:

  • President Deborah Roy, M.P.H., RN, COHN-S, CSP, CIT, FASSP, FAAOHN, is President of SafeTech Consultants Inc. An ASSP member since 1993, Roy has more than 35 years of occupational safety and health experience and is past corporate director of health, safety and wellness for L.L. Bean. She rejoined the Board of Directors in 2018 after being a director-at-large from 2015-17. Roy has a Master of Public Health in occupational health and safety from the University of North Carolina and is an ASSP Fellow.
  • President-Elect Brad Giles, P.E., CSP, STS, FASSP, GIOSH, is principal of Bradley Giles and Associates. He has more than 40 years of experience in the safety, health, environmental and security disciplines. He returned to the Board of Directors in 2019 after serving as a director-at-large from 2015-18. Giles is an ASSP Fellow who has received the President's Award twice. He earned a master's degree in education from Southern Illinois University. An ASSP member since 1981, Giles will be Society president in 2021-22.
  • Senior Vice President Christine Sullivan, CSP, ARM, is Senior Vice President and Risk Control Director at Sompo International. She has nearly 30 years of safety experience. Sullivan is concluding her term as vice president, finance. Her Society honors include the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award. She earned a bachelor's degree in human factors engineering at Tufts University. An ASSP member since 1996, Sullivan will be Society president in 2022-23.
  • Vice President, Finance, Linda Tapp, CSP, ALCM, CPTD, is President of SafetyFUNdamentals, an occupational safety training company. Tapp is chair of the ASSP Foundation. She has authored several books and contributed to The Safety Professional's Handbook. An ASSP member since 1989, Tapp was named the Society's Safety Professional of the Year in 2007 and earned the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award in 2010. She holds a master's degree in environmental health from Temple University.
  • Director-At-Large Maribeth Anderson, M.P.A., CSP, is Assistant Vice President at HUB International, providing tailored solutions in safety, business continuity, crisis response, cyber security and security for clients with global operations. An ASSP member since 1997, Anderson received the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award in 2017 and the President's Award in 2019. She has earned undergraduate degrees from Lewis University and a master's degree from the Illinois Institute of Technology.

For more information contact:

American Society of Safety Professionals

520 N. Northwest Highway

Park Ridge, IL 60068


< back