Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

SME Announces 2022 College of Fellows

SME has announced its 2022 SME College of Fellows. Since 1986, the SME College of Fellows has honored those members who have made outstanding contributions to the social, technological and educational aspects of the manufacturing profession. These eight industry professionals have earned this honor through 20 years or more of dedication and service to manufacturing.

The eight selected manufacturing leaders-all SME members who now carry the designation "FSME" (Fellow of SME) after their names-have diverse technical backgrounds spanning advanced technologies and processes including additive manufacturing, automation, machining and advanced materials.

"Our 2022 SME College of Fellows recipients demonstrate a wide range of expertise in manufacturing that is needed to drive innovation," said Bob Willig, SME Executive Director and CEO. "We are excited to honor these members and welcome them into the esteemed SME College of Fellows. We celebrate their lifelong commitment to manufacturing. It is individuals such as these eight fellows who will continue to push the boundaries of what is next in manufacturing."

2022 SME College of Fellows:

  • Prasad Akella, PhD, FSME, founder and Chairman, Drishti Technologies Inc., Mountain View, CA
  • Daniel J. Braley, FSME, CAM-T, Associate Technical Fellow-Additive Manufacturing & BGS Additive Manufacturing Technical Focal, Boeing Global Services, St. Louis, MO
  • Matthew A. Davies, PhD, FSME, Director of Global Applications, Engineering and Training, Moore Nanotechnology, Charlotte, NC
  • Jeffrey DeGrange, FSME, Chief Commercial Officer, Impossible Objects Inc., Eden Prairie, MN
  • Sunderesh S. Heragu, PhD, FSME, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
  • Mingwang Fu, PhD, FSME, Chair Professor of Advanced Manufacturing, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • William P. King, PhD, FSME, Professor and Andersen Endowed Chair, Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL
  • Robert G. Landers, PhD, FSME, Advanced Manufacturing Collegiate Professor, Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN.

For more information contact:

SME Headquarters

One SME Drive

Dearborn, MI 48128


< back