Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

IIoT Connectivity and Efficiency for EDM Processes



With the release of HyperConnect, Makino offers a suite of Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) applications for electrical discharge machines (EDMs) that enhances user experience and efficiency and reduces machine downtime. Available on all Makino EDMs equipped with Hyper-i control systems, HyperConnect enables shop managers and operators to easily monitor and control EDM processes from any PC, smart device or other Hyper-i control systems on the network.

"EDM operators are already faced with too much on the shop floor. The last thing we want them doing is running back and forth between machines and office spaces," said Brian Pfluger, EDM Product Line Manager for Makino. "HyperConnect provides these operators with accessibility to everything they need to maximize efficiency, whether they are standing at the machine, sitting in their office or working remotely."

The HyperConnect suite features four primary connectivity features for shop personnel to easily monitor, plan and troubleshoot their EDM operations:

  • EDM Mail relays machine status information to operators via email during unattended operation to help reduce downtime and support multitasking abilities. It can deliver periodic, timed interval updates of a machine's operating conditions, or alert operators of a machine stoppage at any hour.
  • The Machine Viewer is an application that permits networked access to the Hyper-i control's NC operation screens, which allows operators to remotely view the machine control and process information from any office environment PC or enabled smart device.
  • The Machine-to-Machine Viewer feature gives operators remote access to view and control a networked Hyper-i EDM from another Hyper-i machine, preventing unnecessary foot traffic across the shop floor.
  • With the PC Viewer function, operators can achieve greater productivity with remote access to all software on a networked PC directly via the Hyper-i control and includes accessibility to any CAD/CAM software, specialized shop tracking software and Microsoft Office applications.

The most commonly utilized applications are the EDM Mail and PC Viewer functions. Operators use the PC Viewer to verify CAD/CAM software process and dimensions directly from the Hyper-i control, eliminating a substantial amount of non-production motion within a shop. The EDM Mail function is used to maximize unattended operation by alerting the operator of machine status or stoppage.

"The collective capabilities provided by the HyperConnect communications suite unleashes the potential of next-level IIoT networking and machine monitoring into practical manufacturing tools that empower operators with greater flexibility and productivity on the shop floor," said a company spokesperson."

For additional information on HyperConnect, including installation or activation, contact Makino customer support at 1-888-625-4664 or visit the myMakino Customer Portal at www.makino.com.

For more information contact:

Kara Valz

Director of Marketing

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

kara.valz@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

roger_thompson@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

SC

Jason Piechowiak

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 864-498-2664

jason.piechowiak@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

Central & S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Dr.

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC & VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W. TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Schnars

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.schnars@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 770-283-4852

gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Tony Turner

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

321-800-5523

tony.turner@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 864-247-3567

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, NH, NJ, MD, E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chaplin Rd., Ste. 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

CT

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

255 Myrtle St.

New Britain, CT 06053

860-223-0236

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

SST - EDM Consumables

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Ln.

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy., Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI, IL, MO

Mike McGuire

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Dr. SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg. #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K,

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire,

San Diego, Wes Colony)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA

Jamie Layden

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 657-240-5414

jamie.layden@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage St.

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th St. E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email