Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Enhanced 5-Axis Machining for Die and Mold Tooling and Medical Part Processing



The increasing complexity of modern tool, die, mold and medical part designs call for a new level of 5-axis machine performance. The Makino D200Z 5-axis vertical machining center (VMC) answers these challenges by combining the quickness of machine movements and accuracies with the latest software developments for high-precision, high-speed motion control. "From roughing to high-speed finishing of multifaceted, contoured 3-D geometries, the D200Z is designed to boost productivity with the most competitive processing capabilities for complex dies and molds typically found in the automotive, injection molding, packaging, medical and optical markets."

"With mold manufacturers strained for capacity and challenged to keep pace with new design changes, all while minimizing costs, the need for high-performance 5-axis machining has never been more critical," said William Howard, Vertical Product Line Manager at Makino. "The speed and precision of the D200Z supply a unique foundation for responsive high-speed cutting and outstanding surface finishes that reduce or eliminate handwork. Its 30,000 RPM spindle and integral direct-drive table provide quick, precise, full 5-axis machining. All of this capability is tied together with Makino's proprietary SGI.5 motion control software for the highest degree of accuracy and quality in the blends and matches of intricate surfaces and 3-D accuracy requirements typical of today's die, mold, medical and intricate-geometry components."

Designed with an integral chuck to maximize work-zone volume and load capacity, the D200Z accommodates workpiece sizes up to 300 mm in diameter and 210 mm tall with weight up to 75 kg. The X, Y and Z axes (350 mm, 300 mm and 250 mm travels, respectively) provide swift movement with rapid traverse and cutting feedrates of 60 m/min. The D200Z has also adopted a unique, lightweight B-axis tilting structure with 180° (0 to +180) of tilt capability at 100 RPM. Both the B-axis and rotational C-axis (360° continuous at 150 RPM) feature direct-drive motors for accurate, high-speed angular and rotational operation.

High-Speed Stability in a Compact Design

The design of the D200Z features high speed and precision in a compact unit (1,500 mm wide by 2,220 mm deep) for efficient use of floor space. All machine elements and peripheral equipment are located within the main body of the machine to limit the overall machine footprint. Both the standard 20-tool capacity automatic tool changer (ATC) and the optional 40-tool ATC fit within the same machine floor space, enabling companies to expand capability without loss of floor space. In addition, the machine tool magazine capacity can be optionally expanded to 100 and 300 tools.

Wide base castings and core-cooled ball screws serve as a base platform for all other machine components, enhancing overall process stability. The machine's 30,000 RPM, HSK-E50 spindle is designed with a high-tech spindle core and jacket cooling system to tightly control thermal growth, deflection and vibration during high-speed machining operations. As a result, the D200Z extends tool life and has enhanced surface finishes even in applications requiring fine tool blends and matches.

"An integrated pallet chuck reinforces the stiffness and rigidity of the machine tool, all while ensuring efficient workpiece changeover speed and full usage of work zone and workload capacities," said the spokesperson. Additionally, this design has a common pallet interface that can be readily integrated into a variety of automated cells and systems prevalent in today's tool, die and mold shop environments.

"The D200Z can also be configured with a graphite machining package to provide high-speed, accurate and productive, 5-axis production of graphite electrodes," said the spokesperson.

Expansive Control Capabilities, Easy-to-Use Interface

"The D200Z is equipped with Makino's powerful yet intuitive Professional 6 (Pro6) control. With streamlined screen layouts, operator assistance features and new machine functions, Pro6 features a seamless interface for operators to maximize productivity."

Included within the Pro6 control is Makino's proprietary, next-generation Super Geometric Intelligence (SGI.5) software developed specifically for high feedrate, tight-tolerance machining of complex 3-D contoured shapes involving continuous tiny blocks of NC data. Using a combination of refined AC digital servos and proprietary software, SGI.5 enables the machine to feed at rates faster than standard CNC systems while maintaining high accuracy. Its high resolution, three million pulses per revolution (PPR) feedback system helps ensure that the servo system operates at optimum performance during execution of the toolpath. "Depending upon the specific geometry of the application, SGI.5 yields 20% to 60% faster cycle times while maintaining accuracy and surface finishes," said the spokesperson.

Also featured on the D200Z is Makino's proprietary Collision Safe Guard technology-a function that runs real-time interference checks to avoid spindle crashes. By combining on-board machine geometry models with workpiece, fixture and tooling data input by the user, Collision Safe Guard is able to predict and stop the machine prior to collision, protecting investments in the machine, fixture, tooling and workpiece.

For more information contact:

Kara Valz

Director of Marketing

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

kara.valz@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

roger_thompson@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

SC

Jason Piechowiak

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 864-498-2664

jason.piechowiak@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

Central & S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Dr.

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC & VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

N. MS

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Derek Sanders

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-560-1353

derek.sanders@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Chad Brown

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 706-510-5542

chad.brown@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Schnars

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.schnars@singlesourcetech.com

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

TN

Tony Turner

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

321-800-5523

tony.turner@singlesourcetech.com

FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, NH, NJ, MD, E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chaplin Rd., Ste. 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

CT

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

255 Myrtle St.

New Britain, CT 06053

860-223-0236

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

253 Silver St.

P.O. Box 507

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

SST - EDM Consumables

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

OH, IN, KY

Kris Kimbrell

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

513-520-6232

Cell: 657-240-0361

kris.kimbrell@singlesourcetech.com

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI, IL, MO

Mike McGuire

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Dr. SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg. #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K,

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire,

San Diego, Wes Colony)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bret Morris

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-659-0552

bret.morris@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA

Jamie Layden

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 657-240-5414

jamie.layden@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

P.O. Box 12346

Phoenix, AZ 85284

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

RaeAnne Blaski

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

P.O. Box 12346

Phoenix, AZ 85284

Cell: 602-686-0895

raeanne.blaski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage St.

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th St. E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back