Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Full 5-Axis Machining for Complex Parts



The VC-500A/5X Vertical Machining Center from Mazak has a trunnion-style rotary/tilt table that allows for the accurate processing of small complex parts via full 5-axis machining. The machine also features the MAZATROL SmoothX CNC that allows for easier programming and faster part cycle times, in either EIA or MAZATROL conversational.

The VC-500A/5X comes standard equipped with a high-performance CAT-40, 12,000 RPM spindle that delivers enhanced metal removal capabilities in all common materials, including steel, aluminum and cast iron. Optional speeds of 15,000 RPM and 20,000 RPM are available to address a variety of part production requirements.

Now with 60-tool capacity, the tool magazine on the VC-500A/5X helps reduce set-up time, allows for redundant tooling and provides more unmanned uninterrupted operations. In tandem with the magazine, the machine's automatic tool changer provides fast tool exchanges for an overall reduction in non-cut times. Furthermore, reliable tool monitoring on the VC-500A/5X maximizes production efficiency and lowers operating costs via early problem detection.

Axis travels for the VC-500A/5X measure 19.88" in X, 19.88" in Y and 20.07" in Z, allowing it to accommodate a part sizes up to 19.68" in diameter and 12" high. Rapid traverse speeds for these three linear axes are now 1,181 IPM.

To minimize thermal displacement, Mazak incorporates an oil chiller that cools the VC-500A/5X's head and table. The machine's trunnion-style rotary/tilt table is constructed with durable high-speed roller gear cam drive technology for high torsional rigidity and positioning accuracy. The table tilts +110° / - 110° in the B-axis and rotates 360° in the C-axis and can accommodate workpiece weights up to 440 lbs.

Mazak's MAZATROL SmoothX CNC on the VC-500A/5X makes it easy to generate programs for complex parts production. It has several advanced functions that allow it to ensure the shortest possible machining cycle times, especially in fine increment programs for simultaneous 5-axis operations and free-form die-mold machining. These functions include High Gain Feed Forward Control, Fast Rotary Axis Speeds, Variable Acceleration Control and Intelligent Pocket Milling.

Ergonomics also play an important role in the functionality of the MAZATROL SmoothX CNC. A large 19" display presents all of the critical machine data within a single page view, while the tilt control panel allows for optimum positioning based on operator height. An intuitive multi-touch screen, which is similar to that of a smartphone, enables fast and smooth programming operations. An SD card allows the CNC to store up to 32 GB of data.

For more information contact:

Tasha Riddell

Mazak Corporation

P.O. Box 970

Florence, KY 41022-0970

859-342-1700

triddell@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

Southwest

Dana R. Scott

Mazak SW Technology Center

10950 Greenbend Blvd.

Houston, TX 77667

281-931-7770

dscott@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

LA

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

800-462-9519

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

OK, AR

Butch Cumminsky

David James

Machinery Resources Inc.

5550 South 94th East Avenue

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-622-6495

800-448-1878

butch@mritul.com

www.mritul.com

N. TX

Chris Papke

Mazak Corporation

2000 East Lamar Blvd, Ste. 600

Arlington, TX 76006

800-642-6110

El Paso, TX

Felipe Arvizo

Magnum Precision Machines Inc.

12025 Rojas Dr. Suite A

El Paso, TX 79936

915-856-7900

farvizo@magnumep.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

NM

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines, Inc.

8448 Washington Place NE

Albuquerque, NM 87113

505-345-8389

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

Southeast

Dave Kennedy

Mazak Southeast Technology Center

1075 Northbrook Parkway

Suwanee, GA 30024

678-985-4800

dkennedy@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

TN

Dennis McCurry

Pinnacle Machine Tools, Inc.

5912-A Toole Drive

Knoxville, TN 37919

865-951-0260

mccurry@pinnaclemachine.net

AL

Jerry Edwards

Pinnacle Machine Tool Inc.

141 Nick Fitcheard Road

Huntsville, AL 35806

256-852-0900

edwards@pinnaclemachine.net

NC, VA

Rick Smith

MachineTech, Inc.

8100-J Arrowridge Blvd.

Charlotte, NC 28273

704-665-6301

rick@machinetechcnc.com

www.machinetechcnc.com

GA, SC

Tim Kramer

Premier Engineering Co.

1635 Lakes Pkwy. Ste. U

Lawrenceville, GA 30043-5858

678-442-8382

tim@premierengineering.com

www.premierengineering.com

MS

Richard Cahn

Dixie Mill Machine Tools Co.

901 Tchoupitoulass Street

New Orleans, LA 70152

504-525-6101

rcahn@dixiemill.com

www.dixiemill.com

FL

Mike Hessney

Joe Selway

Unbridled Technologies

P.O. Box 344

Brooksville FL 34605

888-334-8402

info@utechcnc.com

www.utechcnc.com

Northeast

New England, E. NY, NJ

Steve Wilkins

Mazak Northeast Technology Center

700 Old County Cir.

Windsor Locks, CT 06096

800-436-8900 / 860-292-4400

SWilkins@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

E. PA, MD, DE

Jim Rutan

Mazak Mid Atlantic Office

1275 Glenlivet Drive

Allentown, PA 18106

jrutan@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

W. NY

Bill Miller

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

East Aurora, NY

716-652-8282

bmiller@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

W. PA

Russ Weis

A.W. Miller Technical Sales

3 Tara Drive

PO Box 220

Harmony, PA 16037

724-453-1690

rweis@awmiller.com

www.awmiller.com

Midwest

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

ND, SD, MN

Joel Lundin

Tony Bailey

Northwest Machine Technologies, Inc.

20851 Commerce Blvd.

Rogers, MN 55374

763-493-3660

tbailey@nwmtec.com

www.nwmtec.com

NE, W. IA

Duane Ohlrich

Industrial Systems & Supply Inc.

2760 E. 29th Avenue

Columbus, NE 68601

402-564-4445

ohlrich@industrial-systems-supply.com

www.industrial-systems-supply.com

E. IA

Kevin Bates

Mazak Midwest Technology Center

300 East Commerce Drive

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-885-8311

kbates@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

MO, S. IL

Bill Summers

Municipal Tool & Machinery Co.

2465 Rock Island Blvd.

Maryland Heights, MO 63043

314-994-9905

bsummers@municipaltool.com

www.municipaltool.com

KS, W. MO

Nick Shelton

Concept Machinery -

A Shelton Machinery Company

6319 W. 110th St.

Overland Park, KS 66211

913-387-4413

nshelton@conceptmachinery.com

www.conceptmachinery.com

WI

Mike Cekanor

Machinery Systems North

3280 Gateway Rd.

Brookfield, WI 53045

262-781-4850

mikec@machsys.com

www.machsys.com

IL, N.W. IN

Eric Hilliard

Machinery Systems Inc.

614 East State Parkway

Schaumburg, IL 60173

847-882-8085

www.machsys.com

E. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

36055 Groesbeck Highway

Clinton Township, MI 48035

586-741-3000

800-ADDY-NOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

W. MI

Peter Addy

Addy Machinery Co.

3757 Broadmoor Ave SE, Ste. A & B

Grand Rapids, MI 49512

800-AddyNOW

peter@addymachinery.com

www.addymachinery.com

S. OH

Greg Papke

Mazak Corp.

8025 Production Drive

Florence, KY 41042

859-342-1700

gpapke@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

IN, KY

Nick Shelton

Shelton Machinery, Inc.

9900 North by Northeast Blvd.

Fisher, IN 46037

317-845-5588

www.sheltonmachinery.com

N. OH

Frank Gibbons

Numerequip

4810 Briar Road

Cleveland, OH 44135

216-265-0400

fgibbons@numerequip.com

www.numerequip.com

West

CO, E. WY

Randy Breitenbach

Action Machinery International

4950 Oakland Street

Denver, CO 80239

303-532-2900

randy@action-machinery.com

www.action-machinery.com

WA, OR

Mark Harris

CNC Machine Services, Inc.

7808 184th St. SE

Snohomish, WA 98296

425-788-4500

mharris@cncmachineservice.com

www.cncmachineservice.com

N.ID

Orville Eide

Dependable Machine

88 W Orchard Ave

Hayden, ID 83835

866-967-0146

www.dmi-cnc.com

AZ

Chris Edgar

Magnum Precision Machines

3614 E. Southern Ave. #1

Phoenix, AZ 85040

602-431-8300

cedgar@magnumabq.com

www.magnumprecisionmachines.com

UT, S. ID, MT, W. WY

Clark Smith

Smith Machinery Company

41 W. Guest Avenue

Salt Lake City, UT 84115

80l-263-6403

csmith@smithmachinetools.com

www.smithmachinetools.com

S. CA

Richard McCauley

Mazak West Regional Headquarters and

Aerospace Technology Center

1333 West 190th Street

Gardena, CA 90248

310-327-7172

rmccauley@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

N. CA

David Lindenmuth

Mazak San Francisco Sales and

Technical Center

1497 N. Milpitas Blvd.

Milpitas, CA 95035

408-941-2240

dlindenmuth@mazakcorp.com

www.mazakusa.com

< back

Email   email