Browse by Editorial Category
Browse by Edition Date

Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

VMC Reduces Machining Time for Complex Aluminum Components



Makino's latest full 5-axis machine solution, the DA300 vertical machining center (VMC), is designed to provide the ideal blend of speed, precision and flexibility for complex part applications in a small footprint. "These features make the DA300 ideal for single set-up, multi-side accessibility or full contouring capability to quickly and efficiently tackle a wide variety of complex production part applications commonly found in industrial hydraulic and pneumatics elements, optical, electrical and semiconductor components, medical and dental products, die-cast parts, automotive components and aerospace parts," said a company spokesperson.

"The DA300 integrates features that increase productivity and efficiency by providing significant reductions in non-cut time," said Bill Howard, VMC Product Manager at Makino. "The machine provides a 50% reduction in spindle acceleration time, 15% reduction in positioning time and 40% reduction in tool change chip-to-chip time, and includes a standard vision-type broken tool sensor (Vision B.T.S.) that optically checks tools outside the work zone to ensure tool consistency and part quality while simultaneously reducing non-cut time during tool changes by 80%."

The DA300 worktable is an integral 340 mm by 300 mm table, accommodating workpiece sizes up to 450 mm in diameter, 400 mm tall and weighing 250 kg. The machine provides X-, Y- and Z-axis travels of 450 mm, 620 mm and 500 mm at feedrates of up to 60,000 mm per minute. The direct-drive, motor-driven A-axis table offers 150° (+30 to -120) of tilt capability at 100 RPM. The rotary C-axis has full 360° rotational positioning at 150 RPM. "Combined, these rotational axes have the range and speed necessary to achieve high productivity in complex five-face or full 5-axis machining application. Equipped with scale feedback on all axes, the DA300 also offers a blend of speed and precision," said the spokesperson.

The DA300 comes standardly equipped with a 20,000 RPM HSK-A63 spindle, which is designed to provide speed and flexibility for high-speed productive machining of various workpiece materials, including aluminum, die-cast, steel and titanium. Acceleration and deceleration to and from full speed can be accomplished in 1.5 seconds, reducing chip-to-chip times. Additionally, the machine's standard configuration includes a 60-position ring-type tool magazine with capacity for a wide variety of tooling as well as a Vision B.T.S. to verify the integrity of the tooling prior to use.

With FANUC hardware and Microsoft Windows Embedded Standard 7 OS, the Professional 6 (Pro6) control is designed to help move operators through machine set-up while providing easily accessible information and enhanced safety. Cycle time savings and dynamic control capabilities have been added to the control's GI functions to help lower cost per part.

Included is GI Drilling, a G-code drilling cycle that enables the spindle and tool to arc from hole to hole instead of following a square path. This simple change is designed to reduce non-cut time by as much as 15% on common hole pattern drilling.

On complex 2-D paths, testing has reduced cut time up to 35%. "While not every tool can make use of these functions, advanced motion control GI is proven to reduce overall cycle time by 3-8% in typical production components," said the spokesperson. "This reduction saves substantial cost in both high-volume and low-volume production environments by reducing the number of spindles required and freeing up machine availability to take on more work."

Other intelligent machine functions include Inertia Active Control (IAC), designed to further speed up machine motions based upon system dynamic attributes, and Collision Safe Guard (CSG), a real-time crash-avoidance feature that has a look-ahead function and takes real machining conditions into consideration to prevent collisions.

Designed to eliminate interferences in accessing the pallet, the DA300 can be configured using several approaches, including direct part handling as a stand-alone machine, manual handling using a table chuck and pallet, one of the workpiece pallet systems (WPS) or third-party automation using an EROWA chuck and pallet system. The DA300 can be field modified to add multiple pallet magazines, starting with a seven-pallet workpiece pallet system (WPS-7) and up to a 19-pallet workpiece pallet system (WPS-19). These configurations are designed to deliver high productive capabilities using minimal floor space.

"With Makino automation integration services, manufacturers are able to combat pricing pressures from low-labor-cost countries by providing complete automated cells and systems," said the spokesperson. "Whether demands call for simple machine tending or complex, high-volume robotic cells, Makino's automation integration services offer the equipment, skills and manpower necessary to reduce labor costs, increase throughput and ensure and enhance part quality, all while retaining the flexibility to adapt quickly to changing volumes or new parts."

To learn more about Makino Engineering Services and automation solutions for the DA300, visit www.makino.com/engineering-services.

For more information contact:

Mark Rentschler

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Nick Oyer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

Nick.oyer@singlesourcetech.com

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

tulsa@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

Central/S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Drive

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC, VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

AL, GA, MS, TN

Bill Myers

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-777-8806

bill.myers@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W. TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

W. NC, Central/E. TN

Craig Montalbano

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 865-805-3686

craig.montalbano@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 770-283-4852

E-mail: gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 864-247-3567

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Kenneth Boucher

Single Source Technologies (SST)

407-988-7195

kenneth.boucher@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Kelso

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.kelso@singlesourcetech.com

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, NH, NJ,

E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chapin Road, Suite 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

Jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Lane

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy., Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave. N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

W229 N2510 Duplainville Rd., Unit 2

Waukesha, WI 53186

262-960-0463

IL

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

presont.giles@singlesourcetech.com

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Drive SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

MO

Preston Giles

SST-Midwest

1135 Jansen Farm Drive

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

AZ, CA

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

N. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Janna North

Single Source Technologies (SST)

janna.north@singlesourchtech.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire, San Diego)

Wes Colony

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage Street

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th Street E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email