Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Next-Gen EDGE-Series to Support General Precision Machining Applications



Makino has announced its next-generation EDGE-series machines, the EDGE2 and EDGE3, to the U.S. manufacturing market. Built for general precision machining applications, both electrical discharge machines (EDMs) are designed to provide accurate and reliable performance for standard die/mold components or contract manufacturing with a space-saving design for shop floors of any size.

"We have seen a re-emerging demand for general-purpose sinker EDM machines in today's market," said Brian Pfluger, EDM Product Line Manager at Makino Inc. "There are many shops that require advanced sinker EDM operations that are having difficulty in achieving productivity targets due to a workforce skills gap. Therefore, we wanted to support manufacturers with user-friendly sinker EDMs that provide versatile, high-performance machining with dependable reliability at a competitive value."

The EDGE-series sinker EDMs feature an integral rise-and-fall work tank designed with unobstructed access to the work zone for set-ups, which improves visibility to monitor the machining processes. The machines include an eight-station automatic tool-changer (ATC) to extend unattended operation, and fully support robotic automation for greater unattended operations. The machines are equipped with critical safety features, such as flame sensor and fire extinguisher systems that are integrated and monitored by the machine control.

The footprint and work tank specifications for the EDGE-series are:

  • EDGE2 footprint: 1,750 mm x 1,770 mm x 2,300 mm (69" x 70" x 91", respectively); work tank (L x W x H): 650 mm x 450 mm x 300 mm (25.6" x 17.7" x 11.8", respectively)
  • EDGE3 footprint: 1,950 mm x 2,100 mm x 2,300 mm (77" x 83" x 92", respectively); work tank (L x W x H): 800 mm x 550 mm x 350 mm (31.5" x 21.7" x 13.8", respectively).

"The EDGE2 and EDGE3 are configured with a variety of productive, adaptive EDM technologies to efficiently handle virtually any task while reducing machining time," said a company spokesperson.

Features include:

  • SuperSpark4 is engineered to optimize the power discharge levels and jump cycles to reduce machining time up to 50%.
  • Intelligent Expert System (IES) offers advanced adaptive power to automatically stabilize EDM processes and enhance accuracy.
  • MGH6 control features a 15" touch screen control system and simplified programming using the Makino program generator (MPG) function.

For more information contact:

Kara Valz

Director of Marketing

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

kara.valz@makino.com

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, TX 76051

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

roger_thompson@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

SC

Jason Piechowiak

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 864-498-2664

jason.piechowiak@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

Central & S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Dr.

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC & VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W. TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Schnars

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Rd.

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.schnars@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 770-283-4852

gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Tony Turner

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

321-800-5523

tony.turner@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 281-254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 864-247-3567

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, NH, NJ, MD, E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chaplin Rd., Ste. 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

CT

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

255 Myrtle St.

New Britain, CT 06053

860-223-0236

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

SST - EDM Consumables

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Ln.

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy., Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI, IL, MO

Mike McGuire

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Dr. SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg. #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K,

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire,

San Diego, Wes Colony)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 805-844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA

Jamie Layden

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 657-240-5414

jamie.layden@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope St., Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage St.

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th St. E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email