Click here to watch Tutorial Videos >

Updated Horizontal Machining Centers



Makino has introduced the updated a51nx and a61nx horizontal machining centers (HMCs). With the same rigid casting and axis designs of the original platforms, the updated a51nx and a61nx feature an expanded list of technology advancements, including increased spindle torque, innovative tool monitoring, advanced motion controls and the Professional 6 control.

David Ward, Horizontal Product Line Manager at Makino, said, "The updated set of features on these machines unleashes a new level of productive capability that will reduce cycle times and improve overall throughput, enabling companies to gain a competitive edge with the lowest possible cost per part."

The a51nx and a61nx models feature expansive axis travels to accommodate a range of parts and more parts per fixture. The a51nx has a 560 mm (22") X-axis and extended Y and Z axes of 640 mm (25.2") for a total axis volume of 8.1 cubic feet.

The standard a61nx has a 730 mm (28.7") X-axis, 650 mm (25.6") Y-axis and extended Z-axis of 800 mm (31.5"). An optional tall column on the a61nx expands the Y-axis to 730 mm (28.7"), allowing customers to process larger parts that may have previously required 50 taper machines. Due to the expanded Z-axis stroke, maximum tool length on the a51nx and a61nx models is increased to 430 mm (16.9") and 510 mm (20.1"), respectively.

High-Torque, High-Power Spindles

The updated a51nx and a61nx models feature a standard 14,000 RPM (30 kW) spindle that has been upgraded to deliver 303 Nm of torque. This design enables the machines to accelerate and decelerate from full RPM in 17% less time. When compared to previous models, the additional torque reduces rigid tapping time by 20 to 25% per hole. Large-diameter angular contact bearings help to ensure a high level of rigidity for a variety of applications and processes.

An optional 24,000 RPM (80/60 kW) spindle is available on the a61nx model for high metal removal rates in aluminum part applications. A new 20,000 RPM (30/18 kW) spindle with direct-inject air-oil lubrication is also available, delivering improved reliability and power for enhanced productivity.

Reducing Non-Productive Time

Several enhancements have been made to reduce non-cut time on the updated a51nx and a61nx machines. A vision-type broken tool sensor (Vision BTS) comes standard, supporting unattended operation by quickly validating the condition of cutting tools after each tool change. By creating a silhouette of the cutting tools, Vision BTS is also able to detect the length, size and approximate weight of the tool. This information can then be applied to automatically set the tool-change speed to the appropriate setting (fast, medium or slow). The Vision BTS system has fewer moving parts and requires no physical contact with the cutting tool, allowing for enhanced, long-term reliability and less risk of chipping delicate tool materials, such as polycrystalline diamond (PCD).

Inertia active control (IAC) technology has also been expanded for greater efficiency on the updated a51nx and a61nx machines. In addition to optimizing positioning motion of the rotational B-axis, IAC technology is now able to improve acceleration and deceleration rates along the Z-axis. IAC has also been added to the rotation of the ring-type tool magazine. Each time tools are loaded into the magazine, IAC quickly evaluates the total weight held in the ring and adjusts acceleration to match the total load for reducing the time the tool magazine seeks tools.

Professional 6 Control

With a blend of FANUC hardware and Microsoft Windows Embedded Standard 7 OS, the Professional 6 (Pro6) control helps move operators through machine set-up, empower them with accessible information and protect them with enhanced safety. Cycle time saving and dynamic control capabilities have been added to the control's GI functions to help lower costs per part.

Two forms of motion control GI are included with the Pro6 control:

  • GI Drilling is a G-code drilling cycle that enables the spindle and tool to arc from hole to hole instead of following a square path. This change can reduce non-cut time by as much as 15% on common hole pattern drilling
  • GI Milling is designed to improve performance in 2-D milling. GI Milling lets the user define a corner-rounding tolerance on each milling path. Even a small tolerance enables the machine to quickly flow through the cut path, completing milling paths in less time.

On complex 2-D paths, testing has reduced cut time up to 35%. "While not every tool can make use of these functions, advanced motion control GI is proven to reduce overall cycle time by 3 to 8% in typical production component," said a company spokesperson. This reduction can save cost in both high-volume and low-volume production environments by reducing the number of spindles required and freeing up machine availability to take on more work.

Operator Enhancements

The exterior of the machines have evolved in an effort to make maintaining the machine easier for the operator. An L-shaped door, when open, allows more light to enter the machine and prevents fluid from dripping onto the operator during inspection and maintenance. The wide opening on the pallet-loading station doors lends access for loading of fixtures and large workpieces. "This type of accessibility is crucial for part loading and unloading in robot-automated environments" said the spokesperson.

Chip and coolant management has been improved with the addition of a standard hydro-cyclonic filtration system. This system cleans coolant down to a 20 µm level, extending the maintenance life of the coolant.

For more information contact:

Mark Rentschler

Makino Inc.

7680 Innovation Way

Mason, OH 45040

800-552-3288

www.makino.com

Southwest

TX

Nick Oyer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

Nick.oyer@singlesourcetech.com

Glenn Wise

Consumable Sales Engineer

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

glenn.wise@singlesourcetech.com

N. TX

Steven Neidigk

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

steven.neidigk@singlesourcetech.com

S. TX

Felix Bargas

Single Source Technologies

1701 W. Northwest Hwy.

Grapevine, Texas 76051

877-778-5151

felix.bargas@singlesourcetech.com

OK

KOMT

9511 E 55th Place

Tulsa, OK 74145

918-664-6064

tulsa@komt.com

LA

Dennis Mullally

c/o Oliver Van Horn Co.

4100 Euphrosine St.

New Orleans, LA 70125

504-210-3042

dennis-mullally@ohvanhorn.com

NM

Moncktons Machine Tools, Inc.

928 Canvas Back Rd.

Rio Rancho, NM 87144

505-891-8845

msmith@mtproductivity.com

AR

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

Southeast

Central/S. NC

Alan Godwin

Single Source Technologies (SST)

148 Hampshire Drive

Mooresville, NC 28115

alan.godwin@singlesourcetech.com

E. NC, VA

Dan Fredrickson

Single Source Technologies (SST)

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 336-831-4246

dan.fredrickson@singlesourcetech.com

AL, GA, MS, TN

Bill Myers

Single Source Technologies  (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-777-8806

bill.myers@singlesourcetech.com

www.singlesourcetech.com

N. MS, W. TN

Tom Van Hersh

Single Source Technologies  (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 901-569-2251

thomas.vanhersh@singlesourcetech.com

W. NC, Central/E. TN

Craig Montalbano

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 865-805-3686

craig.montalbano@singlesourcetech.com

AL

Jack Nash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 205-612-9371

jack.nash@singlesourcetech.com

NC, SC, VA

Cara Kelso

Single Source Technologies (SST)

EDM Consumables

415 Brookshire Road

Greer, SC 29651

Cell: 908-265-7317

cara.kelso@singlesourcetech.com

GA

Gaylon Gregory

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 770-283-4852

E-mail: gaylon.gregory@singlesourcetech.com

Steve Stratman

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Drive

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: 864-247-3567

steve.stratman@singlesourcetech.com

AL, FL, GA, MS, TN

Bob Ash

Single Source Technologies (SST)

Tooling & Consumables

26762 Success Drive

P.O. Box 708

Madison, AL 35758

Cell: 256-200-1100

E-mail: bob.ash@singlesourcetech.com

S. FL

Kenneth Boucher

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

407-988-7195

kenneth.boucher@singlesourcetech.com

N. FL

Ben Guest

Single Source Technologies (SST)

26762 Success Dr.

Madison, AL 35756

Cell: (281) 254-0728

ben.guest@singlesourcetech.com

Northeast

CT, DC, DE, MA, MD, NH, NJ,

E. PA, RI, Long Island (EDM only)

Single Source Technologies (SST)

30 Chapin Road, Suite 1208

P.O. Box 655

Pine Brook, NJ 07058-0655

800-336-7283 / 973-227-6601

www.singlesourcetech.com

MA, CT, ME, NH, RI, VT

Able Machine Tool Sales

800 Silver St.

Agawam, MA 01001

413-786-4662

sales@ablemts.com

www.ablemts.com

DE, NJ, MD, E. PA, Long Island

SST-MidAtlantic

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

ron.ehrman@singlesourcetech.com

DE, MD, PA

Allen Leeson

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

allen.leeson@singlesourcetech.com

Kevin Most

EDM Sales Engineer

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

kevin.most@singlesourcetech.com

NY, NJ

Jason Chomenko

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

Jason.chomenko@singlesourcetech.com

David Lovejoy

Consumable Sales Engineer

2 Hagerty Blvd., Ste. 300

West Chester, PA 19382-4956

610-430-3670

david.lovejoy@singlesourcetech.com

NY

Meagley Machinery, Inc.

8384 Glen Eagle Dr.

P.O. Box 51

Manlius, NY 13104

315-952-8525

W. PA, WV

Allegheny Machine

632 E. McMurray Rd.

McMurray, PA 15317

800-269-4090 / 724-942-4451

www.allegmach.com

Midwest

KY

Technical Equipment Sales

P.O. Box 99793

Louisville, KY 40269

800-852-0582

IN

Technical Equipment Sales

4501 Earhart Lane

Ft. Wayne, IN 46809

800-852-0582

OH

Technical Equipment Sales

10165 International Blvd.

Cincinnati, OH 45246

800-852-0582 / 513-874-0160

Technical Equipment Sales

6900 Southpointe Pkwy., Ste. A

Brecksville, OH 44141

800-852-0582

MI

Single Source Technologies (SST)

2600 Superior Court

Auburn Hills, MI 48326

248-232-6232

ctg@singlesourcetech.com

MN, ND, SD

Productivity, Inc.

15150 25th Ave. N

Minneapolis, MN 55447-1981

763-476-8600

productivity@productivity.com

WI

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

W229 N2510 Duplainville Rd., Unit 2

Waukesha, WI 53186

262-960-0463

IL

Preston Giles

Single Source Technologies (SST)

1135 Jansen Farm Dr.

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

presont.giles@singlesourcetech.com

NE

Productivity, Inc.

13435 A Street

Omaha, NE 68144

402-330-2323

prone@productivity.com

IA

Productivity, Inc.

9440 Atlantic Drive SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

319-734-3403

dsmith@productivity.com

KS

Mark Rehwinkel

Makino - Direct Wichita

2333 S. West St.

Bldg #100, Suite #103

Wichita, KS 67217

513-573-3607

mark.rehwinkel@makino.com

MO

Preston Giles

SST-Midwest

1135 Jansen Farm Drive

Elgin, IL 60123

847-468-1295

West

N. CA, NV

John Cardana

Clancy Machine

3942 Valley Ave., Bldg. K

Pleasanton, CA 94566

925-249-2299

Cell: 925-575-4011

jcardana@clancymachinetool.com

N. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Janna North

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street STE K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708

Janna.north@singlesourchtech.com

S. CA

Jonathan Hay

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 380-2336

jonathan.hay@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Inland Empire, San Diego)

Wes Colony

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-904-3804

wes.colony@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (Los Angeles, Orange County)

Bill Gocke

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: 714-659-0552

bill.gocke@singlesourcetech.com

S. CA (San Fernando Valley,

San Gabriel Valley, Santa Clarita Valley)

Rob Wood

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

Cell: (805) 844-1331

rob.wood@singlesourcetech.com

AZ

Lee Janczewski

Single Source Technologies (SST)

17800 Newhope Street, Ste. K

Fountain Valley, CA 92708-5429

lee.janczewski@singlesourcetech.com

MT, ID, WY, UT, CO

Mark Smith

Moncktons Machine Tools (CO)

637 Osage Street

Denver, CO 80204

Cell: 303-917-3072

msmith@mmtproductivity.com

OR, WA

John Ellis

Ellis Machinery

6226 20th Street E

Fife, WA 98424

253-926-6868

john@ellismachinery.com

< back

Email   email